Pregnancy 2: Endless Adrenaline, Cortisol and Norepinephrine

The second pregnancy was a little different, a little the same. I was in the middle of my morning routine, sitting on the couch reading, when I heard B come downstairs. She walked into the living room and stopped in front of me. I looked up and said, “Good morning.” She looked at me with a strange holding back a smile with a touch of fear look, and handed me a pregnancy test (yay pee stick!). Pregnant 2-3 weeks the small digital screen reported. My stomach sank (reading that doesn’t make sense, but it’s the only way I can describe it. It was a full body Sam Beckett “oh boy” moment) and my mind raced, but I had to react. I stood up and hugged her.

We were both extremely cautious and nervous, instead of what I suppose is typically a feeling of excitement when people are trying to get pregnant. We really did not say anything to each other. She asked what I thought, I wasn’t about to tell her all the thoughts I had, we would be sitting here for days and we had to get ready for work, so I said, “I don’t know.”

Due to the previous ectopic pregnancy, her OB wanted her to schedule an appointment as soon as she was pregnant. Typically, the first prenatal visit is 8 weeks following the last menstrual period (LMP)…so she immediately called and her appointment was scheduled at around 4 weeks, we quickly discovered this is quite early.

Leave a Reply

