Misdiagnosed Blighted Ovum, Anembryonic Pregnancy?

After the recent appointment we were both in shock. B was angry and frustrated at the manner the doctor had addressed the situation and decided so quickly she should end the pregnancy. I was disappointed and was unsure how to provide support to my wife. What should I do? What should I say? How should I act? I had no answers.

She decided she wanted to continue to pregnancy and see what would happen since the gestational sac was visible and implanted appropriately and there was an increase in pregnancy hormone. I agreed.

I went directly to the almighty google and I searched and read.

normal pregnancy hormone levels by week Caution must be used in making too much of hCG numbers. A normal pregnancy may have low hCG levels and result in a perfectly healthy baby. The results from an ultrasound after 5 -6 weeks gestation are much more accurate than using hCG numbers (American Pregnancy)
3 weeks LMP: 5 – 50 mIU/ml

4 weeks LMP: 5 – 426 mIU/ml

5 weeks LMP: 18 – 7,340 mIU/ml

(American Pregnancy)

Between 1,200 and 6,000 mIU/ml serum levels in early pregnancy, the hCG usually takes 72-96 hours to double.

Above 6,000 mIU/ml, the hCG often takes over four or more days to double.

(Baby Med)

I am a skeptic by nature and this information did not suppress my skepticism. These were the first two sites I found, there were others but the information became repetitive with the same information from these examples. All the sites noted to take “caution” with numbers, as the numbers are not necessarily telling, because each pregnancy is different. The more important factor is the change in the numbers. This is where I was most frustrated, but eventually led me to agree with the B’s decision.

The information pertaining to hormone change was more inconsistent. The majority of sites said the number should double between 48-72 hours, however others said 72-96. Two to four days is a significant difference in time when making such literal life and death decisions. Brittany’s numbers were not doubling every 48 hours, however they did double within 96 hours. I was far from feeling positive about the situation, I felt comfortable with her decision and felt a little more capable of supporting her.

During my searches I also found the Misdiagnosed Miscarriage website which focused specifically on the issue we were experiencing. The website did provide some interesting information, however many of the users posts in the message boards did not finish their story. This led me to assume those pregnancies did not end up working out, but again we know the power of assumptions.

Leave a Reply

