Ohh the Humanity! Seriously Though Not Good.

Neither of us really had any idea what to expect. The doctor said she will probably feel significant cramping and will bleed about double what she would during a normal period, this is not what happened. One night during the week B started to feel cramping, she said it felt like normal period cramping, nothing out of the ordinary.

B tossed and turned that night, not so much because of the pain, but more so because of the feelings of loss, anxiety, and anger she was dealing with. When she got out of bed in the morning she noticed the bleeding had started and the cramps were about the same as they were the night before. She used her normal pads and got ready for work, then ohh the humanity (whenever I hear or think of this I never forget this meme, love it.)

1362599_02bcdea730

As she was walking down the stairs she sort of screamed, “Oh my God.”

“Are you ok?” I replied, not sure what to think.

“I am not sure. Something just felt like it plopped out of me.”

She walked in to the bathroom to look and she said there was a large blood clot, she asked me to get her a new pair of underwear and to bring down her overnight pads. So I did. She changed and went to lay down on the couch. She said she could feel the blood draining out of her. She hung out on the couch for awhile, but the blood flow only slowed down slightly, it did not stop.

“I wonder how long this is going to last.” She said

“Well, the doctor said to expect a double period, so maybe it’s just a strong start.” I replied, thinking she was off to a fast start so maybe the process would be over quickly.

After about an hour, she decided she was not going to be able to work like this, so she called out sick. Every time she stood up to walk, she said she felt like clots would just drop out of her. She was going through overnight pads every 20 minutes and she ran out. She sat on the toilet thinking she might be able to drain herself, based on my theory that the bleeding would start heavy and gradually slowdown, while I went to the store to pick up some more pads. When I returned to the house she was still on the toilet.

“Are you all right?” I asked. I did not expect her to still be on the toilet.

“I don’t know.” She said.

“Do you feel faint or feel like you’re going to pass out?”

“No, but the clots just keep coming out, I haven’t stopped bleeding since you left.”

I went to the google machine. I searched for “eight week miscarriage bleeding” and read basically the same information the doctor said, however I noticed a couple caveats about extraordinary bleeding and hemorrhaging, this freaked me out. Why hadn’t the doctor mentioned this?

The door to the bathroom was open, so I walked over and said, “So, I just read that there is a chance of excessive bleeding. I think we should go to the hospital.”

“Ok” she replied quickly.

I grabbed a couple bath towels and a trash bag and put them on the passenger seat. She doubled up on the pads and off we went.

Leave a Reply

