In the Meantime

I am happy to say things have been going well. B is happy her appetite is back and the majority of the food aversions are gone…she still is not a huge fan of fish for some reason. The only “concerns” during the last few weeks have been weight gain and belly size. As her doctor warned, she has been hearing a lot of people’s unsolicited opinions about the size of her stomach. Personally, I do not understand how you even develop an opinion on this or more importantly why you would think someone would want to hear it, but such is life.

B has asked me several times if I thought she was eating enough and if she is gaining enough wait. From my perspective the answer to both were yes, but to the google machine and medical literature I went. The basics, here too:

  • Normal total weight gain for a healthy woman is 25 to 35 pounds.
  • Overweight women should gain only 10 to 20 pounds during pregnancy.
  • Pregnant women need about 300 extra calories a day. But where these calories come from matters. (It also changes by trimester)
  • About 1,800 calories per day during the first trimester
  • About 2,200 calories per day during the second trimester
  • About 2,400 calories per day during the third trimester

As far as belly growth, I did a google image search and noticed, like seemingly everything else in life, everybody is different. There is an amazing range, so I showed her the pictures and this seemed to comfort her until about two weeks ago. At that point she and I would guess the baby had a growth spurt…she no longer is asking about belly size.

Now that I have finally updated B’s status, I am going to start posting about the surprisingly complicated act of building a registry.

Leave a Reply

